Image not available

International Day of Medical Physics

An Initiative of the International Organization of Medical Physics

Image not available
Image not available
Image not available
Image not available

November 7th 2017

Medical Physics: Providing a Holistic Approach to Women Patients and Women Staff Safety in Radiation Medicine

Image not available




November 7, 2017: Let’s celebrate the 5th International Day of Medical Physics!


Medical Physics: Providing a Holistic Approach

to Women Patients and Women Staff Safety

in Radiation Medicine










Message from Prof. John Damilakis
Coordinator of IDMP activities


J. Damilakis
Dear Colleagues,


This year we celebrate the 150th birthday of Marie Sklodowska-Curie. Marie Curie is remembered for her work on radioactivity and her huge contribution to the fight against cancer. Her work continues to inspire our mission to support people living with illness, including cancer.

The theme for IDMP 2017 focuses on our approach to women patients and women staff safety in radiation medicine. There are health problems that are more prevalent in women than in men such as breast cancer and osteoporosis. It is well known that medical physicists have developed imaging and radiotherapy methods that have increased women’s length of life and have improved quality of life, for example X-ray mammography for the early diagnosis of breast cancer, dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry for the diagnosis of osteoporosis and brachytherapy methods for gynecologic cancer. Medical physicists not only developed these methods but also play a fundamental role in their application ensuring the quality of procedures while minimizing radiation risks to women patients.

Colleagues around the world: please celebrate the Day this year in many different ways:
•    Translate the IDMP poster in your language. We have already uploaded on IDMP website the poster translated in 15 languages
•    Use the internet, newspapers and other communication vehicles to create awareness
•    Organize an event and invite people to promote the role of medical physicists in the worldwide medical scene.
And let us know how you celebrated the Day!
This year the IOMP organizes 3 events in Jaipur, Kuala Lumpur and Vienna in cooperation with the IAEA, the WHO, the Asian Conference of Medical Physics and the University of Malaya. We will invite you all to attend online so that we can celebrate the Day together. Please stay tuned to this website, we will provide more information soon.


Happy International Day of Medical Physics!

Prof. John Damilakis, MSc, PhD, FIOMP
IOMP Education and Training Committee Chair



IDMP 2017


This poster was kindly produced by the IOMP member, the Asia-Oceania Federation of Organizations for Medical Physics (Prof. Arun Chougule)